Mentors from Jordan and Nebo School Districts were honored by the CPSE department.

Nic Rowley from Springville High School is honored with his award

Two teachers in BYU–Public School Partnership schools were selected to receive the 2016 Excellence in Mentoring Award from the Department of Counseling Psychology and Special Education (CPSE) in the McKay School.

Jen Jarrard and Nic Rowley each received the mentoring award that is given out each year to outstanding special education teachers. University supervisors, who recognize exceptional dedication, talent, and effort by experienced teachers in the schools, nominate the teachers.

Jarrard, from South Jordan Middle School in the Jordan School District, mentored several mild- to moderate-disability student teachers and interns who finished with strong skills and a love for the profession.

Jen Jarrard from South Jordan Middle School receives her award

Rowley, from Springville High School in the Nebo School District, provided a valuable and meaningful experience for teacher candidates in severe disability by providing extra support, feedback, and passion for teaching.

Professor Barbara Smith from CPSE worked with other faculty members to determine which teachers would receive the awards.

“We really appreciate having great mentors for our students,” Smith said. “Both Jen and Nic are exceptional role models for beginning teachers and are great at going the extra mile.”

Teachers who mentor students provide a nurturing place for preservice student teachers and interns to practice what they have learned in university courses. This type of arrangement provides a bridge from education to employment.

Each recipient received an engraved clock at a recent school faculty meeting. Their names will also be placed on a plaque in the CPSE Department with other outstanding award recipients from past years.

Writer: Jordan Comstock

Contact: Cynthia Glad (801) 422-1922