Awards given to three individuals with ties to BYU

At this year’s Utah Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Conference, three individuals with ties to BYU’s McKay School of Education took home recognitions for their work: a student, a faculty member, and an alumna.

Kurt Cottle and Katie Steed
Kurt Cottle and Katie Steed with the Jeanette Misaka SCEC Student of the Year Award. Courtesy of Kurt Cottle.

Kurt Cottle was given the Jeanette Misaka SCEC Student of the Year Award, Professor Heidi Nelson received the Hilda B. Jones Special Educator of the Year Award, and alumna Leah Voorhies was recognized as the Stevan J. Kukic Special Education Administrator of the Year.

Cottle, copresident of the student branch of CEC at BYU, helped to plan the conference. His involvement in planning the event, participation in monthly meetings with the Utah CEC board, and his tremendous work at BYU earned him this award.

“It’s a great honor,” said Cottle. The award is another motivator for him to be an advocate for students with disabilities and to continue “working in a way that is best suited for these students . . . who deserve opportunities just like anyone else does.”

Shortly before being recognized at the Utah CEC Conference, Cottle traveled to Tampa, Florida, with a group of fellow BYU students to attend the international CEC Special Education Convention and Expo. You can read about the convention here.


Writer: Jake Gulisane

Contact: Cindy Glad (801) 422-1922